Young Adult Signing with Ashley Wilda and The Night Fox

We’re delighted to welcome local author Ashley Wilda who will discuss and sign copies of her new book The Night Fox.

This luminous, haunting debut, alternating between now and then, reality and magic, tells the story of a girl confronting heartbreak while at a mysterious recovery program in the wilderness.

When seventeen-year-old Eli arrives at Raeth, a remote mountain retreat for teens with mental health issues, her mind is made up—she is not interested in participating, and she doesn’t need to “heal.” Still reeling from a breakup that left both her heart and faith shattered, she is determined to fake being “fine” so that the program’s warden will clear her to return home.

But the retreat itself has other ideas. The valley’s magical surroundings transform each time she ventures out, playing with her mind and dredging up her grief-laden memories. Despite the warning signs, Eli explores more of the area than she had ever planned, even venturing into the dangerous night realm.

This spellbinding debut novel mixes prose and poetry into an exquisite and evocative portrait of love, grief, depression, and the slow path toward healing. THE NIGHT FOX will be a great next read for fans of Nine Perfect Strangers, The Midnight Library, and other novels that take a magical or mystical approach to mental health.

Event Details

Date & Time

Location

Book People

June 11, 2022

Star Gazing and Laser Nights

Virginia Living Museum
July 9, 2022

Star Gazing and Laser Nights

Virginia Living Museum
August 13, 2022

Star Gazing and Laser Nights

Virginia Living Museum