Launch Party for Rachel McRady’s Sun Seekers

Book People is proud to present Sun Seekers the debut novel from Emmy Award-winning writer Rachel McRady.

Come join us after hours for a fun filled night of food, drink, and Sun Seekers. 

Tuesday, January 9, 2024 – 7:00pm.

From Emmy Award-winning writer Rachel McRady comes a vital, illuminating debut novel of a broken family uniting in the face of terrifying crisis, for fans of This is Us and Parenthood.

Six-year-old Gracie Lynn is perpetually curious and big-hearted. Convinced she knows how to save her beloved grandfather John from the “worm” that is eating his brain—a metaphor her mother once used to explain John’s dementia and sundown syndrome—she helps him break out of his nursing home, and the two disappear together on a quest to chase the sun. But what’s an adventure for Gracie is a nightmare scenario for her estranged parents, LeeAnn and Dan. There’s no way to predict where John might have taken their young daughter, or if he’s capable of keeping her safe.

Jaded beyond her years, and struggling with her own mental health, LeeAnn has no delusions about what might happen if they don’t locate Gracie soon. Dan is no less frantic, but communicating with LeeAnn isn’t easy, even under the circumstances—too much stands between the hopeful young couple they once were and the people they’ve become.

An emotionally resonant novel for fans of Fredrik Backman and Mark Haddon, Sun Seekers artfully explores the truths of parenthood, the ways in which we sometimes hurt those we love most, and the universal experience of deep loss—even when the person is still here.

Rachel McRady is an Emmy Award-winning writer and editor for Entertainment Tonight. She has lived in New York, London, and currently resides in Richmond, Virginia, with her husband, Caleb, and their two daughters, Iona and Isla. Rachel’s been writing novels since before she could write herself, dictating stories to her very patient mother on an old computer in the ’90s. Sun Seekers is her debut novel.

Event Details

Date & Time

Location

Book People

June 11, 2022

Star Gazing and Laser Nights

Virginia Living Museum
July 9, 2022

Star Gazing and Laser Nights

Virginia Living Museum
August 13, 2022

Star Gazing and Laser Nights

Virginia Living Museum